VCOM Cloud

Users and contacts

Last modified:

What is the difference between users and contacts?

In VCOM and VCOM mobile apps, it is important to distinguish between contacts and users:

Users

  • Actively use VCOM. Therefore have their own user account in VCOM and mc Cloud. mc Cloud is meteocontrol’s central hub for user management and application access.

  • Must be initially created in mc Cloud and assigned to VCOM. See Users

  • Once created and assigned, the user also appears in VCOM’s user management, and application-specific details such as the user group, team, and systems are assigned in VCOM.

  • Access VCOM via mc Cloud with mc Cloud sign-in credentials.

📗

Examples of VCOM users

  • O&M manager

  • Technician

  • Investor

Contacts

  • Do not use VCOM. Their names and email addresses are simply stored in the system for reference and communication.

  • Must be created and managed in VCOM.

  • See Contacts.

📗

Examples of VCOM contacts

  • Stakeholder who receives reports

  • Contact who receives invoices

Overview: users and contacts

Find an overview of users and contacts at Portfolio level under icon-cog1(1).png Portfolio settings > icon-user1.png Users > Users and contacts.

image-20260717-113525.png
Overview: users and contacts

Name

Description

1

icon-new-tab1.png Manage users

Set up and manage basic user information in mc Cloud.

2

Users tab

Find the list of users in your organization in this tab. See What is a user?

3

Contacts tab

Find the list of contacts in your organization in this tab. See What is a contact?

4

icon_md_download.png CSV export

In the respective tab, download a complete list of users or contacts as a CSV.

5

icon-spinner111.png Reload

Update the overview.

6

icon-sort.png Sort

Sort the list by selecting a specific column.

7

icon-search1.png Search

In the respective tab, quickly search for users and contacts.

8

icon-wrench1.png Column configuration

Select which columns you want to display in the table.

9

icon-pencil1.png Edit

Change the details of a user or contact.

This is where you can change the user group and system assignments of users.

Further actions