VCOM Cloud
English German
English German

Replacing or deleting a data source

Last modified:

Replacing or deleting a data source?

Replacing

Use cases

  • Replacing a defective data logger

  • Upgrading to a newer version of a data logger, for example, blue’Log XM/XC to bluelog Neo.

In most use cases, replacing a data source is the recommended action.

Replacing transfers the existing ‘data source identity’ to the new data source:

  • Data imported from the replaced source remains available and associated

  • Devices created when importing from the previous data source are retained

  • Existing data source configurations are retained

Deleting

❗

Warning

Deletion permanently removes the data source and access to its associated data. This can not be undone.

Deleting a data source should only be considered when the data source and all previously imported data points are no longer required:

  • No more data will be imported from this source

  • Data will no longer be imported from this source

  • Imported data and created devices will no longer be available

  • Data source configurations are permanently deleted

Do not delete a data source if you want to continue using its historical data.

Replace a data source

Prerequisites

  • User group technical customer or higher

  • If applicable, you have replaced the physical data source on site.

  • The new data source is of the same type as the one being replaced. If this is not the case, contact Support for further assistance.

Replacing blue’Log XM/XC with bluelog Neo

You can replace blue’Log XM/XC with bluelog Neo because they are considered the same data source type.

Steps

  1. At SYSTEM LEVEL , go to icon-wrench1.png System settings > icon-database-insert.png Data sources > Overview.

  2. In the actions column, select repeat_50dp_000000_FILL0_wght400_GRAD0_opsz48.png Replace. If necessary, select icon-menu1_upright.png More options.

  3. Enter the Hardware serial number of the new replacement device.

  4. Select Save settings.

Your old data source is now replaced with the new one. All associated data remains.

Delete a data source

Prerequisites

  • User group technical customer or higher

Only selected data sources deletable

Not all data source types support deletion. If a data source can be deleted, the Delete action is available for it. If the Delete action is not displayed, the data source can not be deleted. If you want to delete it anyway, contact Support.

Steps

  1. At SYSTEM LEVEL , go to icon-wrench1.png System settings > icon-database-insert.png Data sources > Overview.

  2. In the actions column, select icon-bin1.png Delete. If necessary, select icon-menu1_upright.png More options.

  3. Confirm your action.

Your data source and all its configurations and associated devices are now permanently deleted. You no longer have access to previously imported data.


Last updated: