To maintain an up-to-date user directory, accounts that remain inactive for an extended period are automatically deactivated. If inactivity continues, the account is permanently deleted.
Inactivity: A user account is considered inactive if no one signs in to it. Every time a user signs in to their account, the inactivity counter is reset.
Notifications: Before deactivation and deletion occur, affected users and admins receive email notifications with instructions on how to keep the user accounts active.
Note
1 month is always 30 days long and does not vary depending on which month it is.
Automatic deactivation
-
After 13 months of inactivity, the user is notified in advance via email that their account is about to be deactivated.
-
After 14 months of inactivity, the admin is notified in advance via email which of their organization's user accounts are about to be deactivated.
-
After 15 months of inactivity, the user account is automatically deactivated and its status changes to inactive . The user is notified via email that their account has been deactivated. The administrator is notified via email that all affected user accounts have been deactivated.
Automatic deletion
-
After 21 months of inactivity, the user account is automatically and permanently deleted. The admin is notified via email that all affected user accounts have been deleted.
-
7 days before the deletion, the user is informed in advance via email that their account is about to be deleted.
-
For more information on deleted data, see Deleting users.
Note
Users who have been manually marked as inactive by a manager or admin will also be automatically deleted after another 6 months of inactivity.